2013 Reading List – Updated August 29, 2013

8/29/2013 Update

this got away from me while I was finishing school (obviously LOL)

Currently reading:

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

The Maeve Series by Elizabeth Cunningham

A Research Primer for Technical Communication by Hughes & Hayhoe

Writing Studies Research in Practice by Nickoson & Sheridan

Up next:

Island of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore

Recently finished:

The English Girl by Daniel Silva

The Last Original Wife by Dorothea Benton Frank

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Porchlights by Dorothea Benton Frank

The Heist by Janet Evanovich & Lee Goldberg

Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich

I’m sure there are others since the end of March (not counting the 63 combined texts & journals that I read for my capstone)

 

 

3/9/2013 Update

Finished The Year of Living Biblically was so positively influenced by the text that I emailed the Author (AJ Jacobs). I’ve never done that before.

Started The Know It All

http://www.amazon.com/The-Know-It-All-Humble-Become-Smartest/dp/0743250621/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1362854203&sr=8-5&keywords=aj+jacobs

2/24/2013

Yesterday at the Arizona Renaissance Festival we encountered a booth from Bookmans‘ – and when I mentioned that I’m a reformed number-cruncher an English Major they gave me some extra I love books goodies (OMSQUEE! I do love books) which prompted me to move my 2013 Completed Books List off Facebook (where I keep losing it on my wall anyway) and over here where I can’t lose it 🙂 it’s also on a white board in MadiKinz room since we’ve got a goal of 20 books read between us before we go to The Sugar Shack for a scoop of perfection.

The rules are simple – not counted toward the 20 (although listed here) –

  1. Books we’re re-reading (unless it’s been 10+ years since the last reading)
  2. textbooks and/or books for school (or work) unless we fall so truly-madly-deeply into the text that we just keep reading far beyond the required chapters in the required timeframe  (i.e. I was supposed to read Peopleware by Demarco & Lister over the space of the 16 week semester – I read it in 2 weeks and told people at work that they needed to read it too LOL)

So here ya go – my reading for 2013 through 2/24/2013 (and updated 3/2/13)

Books

  1. The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
  2. The Grapes of Wrath …………….. http://bigreadaz.wordpress.com/ (imagine my book-loving disappointment that there’s not a separate book for each of 12 months for this program)
  3. Cold Days (Book #14 of The Dresden Files) by Jim Butcher
  4. The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs (still reading) – Kindle Edition
  5. Peopleware 2e by DeMarco & Lister
  6. The 4 Disciplines of Execution – Achieving Your Wildly Important Goals by McChesney, Covey & Huling
  7. The Truth about Getting the Best from People 2e by Margaret I. Finney
  8. Operation Beautiful (both versions: tween & adult) by Caitlyn Boyle
  9. Managing your Documentation Projects by JoAnn T Hackos
  10. Environmental Communication and the Public Sphere by Robert Cox
  11. Writing Proposals by Johnson-Sheehan (2d)
  12. Communication Skills for Conservation Professionals by Jacobson
  13. The Year of Living Biblically by AJ Jacobs
  14. Rhetoric and Community – Studies in Unity & Fragmentation by Hogan
  15. Health of Nations 3d by Graig
  16. Communicating in Organizations by Peterson
  17. The Craft of Research 3d by Booth, Colomb & Williams
  18. Technical Editing 5th by Rude & Eaton

Audio Books

  1. Lamb by Christopher Moore (AB)
  2. Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead (AB)
  3. A Prince Among Frogs by E.D. Baker (AB – actually the entire series … it’s perfect for time on the elliptical … but Prince Among Frogs is a first-time listen)
Leave a Reply

